Home Lifestyle DUI in Kentucky? Here’s What to Expect

DUI in Kentucky? Here’s What to Expect

by The Mind Blown

If you are pulled over for DUI in Kentucky, the police will likely ask you to take a breathalyzer test. You can get a DUI in any of the following ways:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol (BAC over .08%)
  • Driving while impaired by drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol
  • Having an open container of alcohol in your car
  • Refusing to take a breathalyzer test
  • If you are under 21 with a BAC of over .02%

You will then be taken to the police station, where you will be booked and fingerprinted. You will likely have to spend the night in jail, and you will probably be required to post bail.

Punishments for DUI in Kentucky

On your first offense, you could face jail time of up to 30 days, though this is unlikely unless the arrest was serious. You will also be subjected to fines between $200 and $500 and a driver’s license suspension for 30-120 days. After, you will have the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle for 6 months.

On your second offense within 10 years, you could face more jail time (between 7 days and 6 months), fines (between $350 and $500), and a longer driver’s license suspension (12-18 months). You will also have to install an IID for an entire year.

On your third offense within ten years, you could face jail time of between 30 days and one year, as well as fines of between $500 and $1,000. You will also be required to go without a license for between 2 and 3 years and will need to have an IID installed in your car for 30 months.

DUI Programs

Everyone arrested for DUI in Kentucky will have to go through a substance abuse treatment program. This is a requirement of the state, and it is not optional. The length of the program will depend on your criminal history and how severe your DUI was. In these programs, you will learn about the dangers of drinking and driving, how to deal with stress and anger management, and how to live a sober lifestyle. You will also be educated on Kentucky’s specific laws and regulations regarding alcohol, drugs, and driving to better understand the laws in your state.

If you are looking for an affordable and accessible substance abuse treatment program that also features outpatient care and other services, Ensite is a fantastic option. There are three locations throughout the state, making it a viable option for anyone living in Kentucky.

What to Do After a DUI Arrest in Kentucky

If you are arrested for DUI in Kentucky, here are the steps you need to take:

Call a lawyer. The sooner you can get legal representation, the better. The lawyer can help you understand the charges against you, advise you on what to do next, and represent you in court.

Contact your insurance company. Your insurance company will likely want to know about the DUI arrest, so be sure to contact them as soon as possible. They may increase your rates or drop your coverage altogether.

Request a hearing with the Kentucky Department of Motor Vehicles. If you want to try and keep your driver’s license, you will need to request a hearing within ten days of your arrest. The DMV can suspend your license for up to 18 months.

Attend your court date. Failure to appear in court could result in a warrant being issued for your arrest. Be sure to show up on time and dress appropriately.

Talk to a substance abuse counselor. If you are required to attend a DUI program, be sure to speak with your counselor about any additional treatment you may need.

If you have been arrested for DUI in Kentucky, don’t try to handle it on your own. Contact an experienced lawyer and follow their advice. It is important to remember that anything you say or do can be used against you in court, so try to avoid making any statements until you have had a chance to speak with your lawyer.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More